School governors form one of the country’s largest groups of volunteers.

A Governing Board’s work focuses on three core strategic functions:

• Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
• Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
• Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

The Headteacher is responsible for the internal organisation, management daily running of the school and the implementation of the strategic framework established by the Governing Board.

The Governing Board sets the aims and objectives for the school and policies and targets for achieving those aims and objectives. It monitors and evaluates the progress the school is making towards those aims and objectives and is a source of challenge and support to the Headteacher.

Almost anyone over 18 years of age can become a governor. Volunteers must demonstrate a willingness to dedicate time to the role, have the capacity to undertake the training necessary to fulfil the role and to visit the school on a regular basis during the school day and to attend meetings of the Governing Board and any Committees or working groups as necessary.

The Safeguarding Vulnerable Groups Act 2006 specifies that all individuals acting as members of the Governing Board of an educational establishment (defined as either an educational establishment which is exclusively or mainly for the provision of full-time education to children, or a maintained nursery school) must undergo a DBS (Disclosure and Barring Service) check.

The Governing Body of Burstow School is comprised of 14 governors elected or appointed as follows:

• 2 Parent governors – elected by parents.
• 1 Staff governor – elected by the staff.
• 1 Headteacher – ex officio.
• 1 LA governor – appointed by the Local Authority.
• 6 Co-opted Governors – appointed by the Governing Board based upon skills and experience.
• 2 Partnership governors – appointed by the Governing Board based upon skills and experience.

The Governors are:

Name Category Term of Office
Mrs Claire Creed (Chair) Additional LA 7.9.2022 – 19.7.2024
Mrs Rosemary Hucker Additional LA 23.1.2023 – 19.7.2024
Mr Stephen Case -Green Co-opted 15.7.2021 – 14.7.2025
Mrs Katrina Turvey Ex-Officio From 1.1.2023
Mrs Ushma Olaitan Co-opted 19.10.2022 – 18.10.2026

The Nominated Governor responsible for Safeguarding is: Mrs Claire Creed

The Clerk to the Governors is Mrs Kate Baum

The Governing Body hold three meetings per term and also Committees covering Pay and Admissions.

The Governing Body will convene panels for Disciplinary matters/Complaints or exclusions as necessary.

Statutory Information:


Name Roles & Responsibilities Term of office / category Relevant business & pecuniary interests (as recorded in the register of interests) Relationship with other Governors / Staff Governance roles in other educational institutions/ charities Meeting attendance
2022 - 2023
Claire Creed

Chair of Governors


7.9.2022 – 19.7.2024
Additionally Appointed by LA

Schools Alliance for Excellence – Governance Associate

The Hope Service – Clerk to Management Committee

Yattendon School – Clerk to Governors

Milton Mount Primary School – Clerk to governors

Oriel High School – Exam Invigilator

East Grinsted Sports Club – Board Administrator

Northgate Primary School – Clerk to Governors until 14.10.2022


Limpsfield CE Infant School – Chair of Governors until 31.12.2022

Associate Member from 1.1.2023 – 31.8.2023

Rosemary Hucker Vice Chair

23.1.2023 – 19.7.2024

Additionally Appointed by LA

None None

The Grange Infant School – Governor

NESSS – Associate Member

Surrey Education Trust – Governor Representative

Surrey Governance Association – Treasurer

Trumps Green Infant School - Governor

 Stephen Case-Green  Health & Safety  15.7.2021 – 14.7.2025
 None  None    10/11
 Ushma Olaitan    19.10.2022 – 18.10.2026
 None  None  Westvale Park – Governor  6/8
 Katrina Turvey    Ex-officio from 1.1.2023  Acting Head Teacher  None  None   7/7
 Hannah Mead  Safeguarding  22.10.2015 –21.10.2023
(Resigned 26.5.2023)
 None  None  None  5/7
 Kate Attwood  Health & Safety  14.3.2019 – 13.3.2023
(Resigned 13.3.2023)
Parent Governor
 None  None  Oakwood School – Governor  4/5
 Natalie Rogers    9.3.2023 – 31.7.2023
Additionally Appointed by LA
     The Mead School – Chair of Local Governing Board  4/5
 Louisa Van der Ray    23.5.2022-22.5.2026
(Resigned 19.1.2023)
 Staff  None  None  2/4
 Claire Hodgson    1.3.2017-31.12.2022
 Head Teacher  None  None  4/4
 Nicholas Calver    24.9.2018 – 23.9.2026 (Resigned 3.2.2023)  None  None  Henry Smith Charity  5/6
 Kevin Bourne    24.9.2018-23.9.2022  Councillor for Burstow, Horne & Outwood Ward of Tandridge District Council  None  None  2/2
Caroline Da Costa Torres   5.7.2022 – 4.7.2026
(Resigned 19.9.2022)
None None None 0/1